Reid and the snake

As I was in my bathroom getting ready for the day, I heard Will shrieking from the basement: “REEEEEIIIIID!”  He bellowed.  “REID REID REID REID REEEEEEEEIIIID REID REID REID REID….”

Reid appeared, looking smug.

“I think Will wants you,” I said.  He just smiled and rifled through my bathroom drawers.

“REEEEEEEEEEIID, REID REID REID REID REID REEEEEEEEEEEID REEEEEEEEEEEEID!!!!!!”  Echoed plaintively from the basement.

Finally, Will appeared, with beet red cheeks.  He ran up to Reid.  “REID!”  He shrieked in his face.

Reid ignored him.

“REID REID REID!”  He yelled.

Reid crossed his arms and looked at the floor.  Will looked at me tragically.  “He’s not talking to me,” he sobbed.

“Reid, why don’t you talk to Will?” I asked.

Reid crossed his arms, looked at the floor, and hummed, “Hm hm hm hm!” in a singsong voice.

Will began balling.

“Will, just ignore him,” I advised.  Will yelled in Reid’s face until Reid ran away, and Will chased him all over the house screaming “REID REID REID!!!!”  while Reid ignored him.

Reid reappeared in the bathroom, Will close on his heels.  “Will is being a whiny boy!”  He pronounced.

“Dear, he’s frustrated because you won’t talk to him.”

“I don’t want to play food,” Reid responded.

“Then tell him that!”  I said.

Reid crossed his arms, “Hm-hm-hm-hm”-ed again and ran off, Will shrieking after him.

I shook my head.  Here they go again!

When it was time to put on shoes for church, Reid transformed into a snake.

“Hisssss!  Hsssssssss….” he snarled, velcro-ing his shoes.

Will looked despairing.  “Mommy, he’s still not talking!”

“He’s a snake now, what do you want me to do?  Ignore him back!”

“Hsssss, hssssss, ssssss, ssssss,” commented Reid.

Will suddenly slapped him across the face.

The hissing paused momentarily.

“Will, don’t hit!”  I scolded.

Will’s face was sour.  “But he’s not talking to me!”

“You still don’t hit someone in the face!”

“Hissss, sssssss, ssssss, sssss, sssssss,” said the snake.

Reid resumed human form and acknowledged Will’s existence once we arrived at church, and all was right in twin-land again.

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

