Green Band

It is with mixed emotions that I announce: Stephen passed the YMCA swim test and earned a green band!  Meaning, he is now allowed to swim ANYWHERE in the pool without parental supervision.  He is allowed to cross the rope into the deep end while I’m upstairs working out.

Half of me wanted him to fail the test so he would have to stay in the safety of the shallow end.

This morning was his first time swimming as a green band while I worked out.

“Maybe you should still stay in the shallow end,” I suggested.

“Mom!  No!  I’m a green band now!  I’m going in the deep end!”

“But I’m worried about you being in the deep end by yourself.”

“I’ll be ok.  I can swim forward and float on my back.  That’s why they gave me the green band.”

“I know,” I sighed.  “But…just…what if I finished my workout and you drowned in the pool?”

“There are life guards.  It’s not like they would sit around watching me drown and eating popcorn, like they were watching a movie!”  He laughed.

“I guess that’s true,” I said, hugging him.  “It’s just a big step, and you used to be my baby.”

“I know.  It’ll be ok, Mom,” he said, patting my back.

After my workout, I watched Stephen through the window in the pool below me, swimming confidently.

My son is ready to venture into deeper water, without his mom.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

