Can’t Buy Me Love

“I need a new bike,” Stephen said, as we drove home from the store.

“Yes, you’ve outgrown your bike,” I agreed.  “Why don’t you put that on your Christmas wish list?”

“Ok,” He said.  “I’ll think about things for my Christmas list.”

Then a few minutes later, “But you can’t buy friends.”

“What?” I asked, startled.

“I would put friends on my Christmas list.  But no one can buy you friends.”

“No….that’s true.  Do you wish you had more friends?”

“I only have 4 friends.  But not at school.”

“Do you feel like you can make friends at school?  Don’t you play with kids there?”  I asked.

“I don’t want to talk about this anymore,” he responded.

“Why, does it upset you?”  I asked.

“I just don’t want to talk about it anymore!”  He said, staring out the window.

I am often amazed how easily things come to Stephen: school, reading, music.  But I am also sad, because the things that don’t come easy are the hardest to teach.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

