Quite Contrary

Last week, Adrian visited the dentist to have a cavity filled.  He was an angel in the chair; quiet and calm.  No screaming or whining.

When they finished, the dental assistant remarked, “Wow!  He did better than a lot of grown ups!”

I laughed.  He glanced at me seriously.  “You laugh, but no joke.  He did better than a lot of adults.”

I shook my head.  “I just wish he was this calm when we went bike riding!  You should have heard the screaming and crying about riding bike.  Next time I’ll take him to the dentist instead, he’s much happier here.” (last bike ride here)

I even asked Adrian: “Would you rather go for a bike ride or get a cavity filled?”

When he didn’t respond, I prompted him, “Adrian?”

“I’m thinking!”  He yelled….then, thoughtfully “I don’t know.”

So it was no surprise when Reid and Will wanted to ride bikes around the neighborhood that Adrian immediately shouted, “I don’t want to go!  I hate riding my bike!”

“Ok,” I said.  “Stay here with Daddy.”

“No!”  He yelled.  “I DON’T WANT to ride my bike!”

“No problem. I don’t want you to go, either.  You’re too whiny.  Stay home.”

Reid, Will and I were happily rolling down the sidewalk when what should fly past but Adrian….riding his bike with a big smile on his face.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

