Perseverance and parenting

Remember when your parents made you try stuff you didn’t want to try, and do stuff you didn’t want to do?

Remember when you were 8 and slipped on loose gravel on your bike and cut your hand, but your dad made you get up and keep going even though you were bleeding and felt scared and he told you you were fine and needed to persevere (love you dad!)??

Well, I just did that to my kid.

We rode our bikes to the park for Community Night, and Adrian struggled with his training wheels on the loose gravel.  I yelled the parental things:

“Ride faster!  You’ve almost got it!”

“Keep going!  You need to ride and practice!”

“Get back on and try again!  You’re fine!”

He kept slamming on the brakes and then spinning his wheels in the sand, shrieking and crying all the while.  He screamed the kid things:

“This isn’t fun!”

“This is crazy!”

“Nonononononononono!”

“I’m too tired!”

“I don’t need your help!”  (shouted while he so obviously and infuriatingly DID need help)

We finally, miserably arrived at the park, snot flying out of Adrian’s tear stained face…until he saw all the trucks.  And then he was 100% happy and energetic, flying around the trucks and fire engines, with a big smile on his face.

Adrian's magical transformation from tantrum-monster into joyous angel

Adrian’s magical transformation from tantrum-monster into joyous angel

12036505_10156126924320085_409355764139982594_n

After debating living in the park vs going home again, I decided we should probably endure the 1/2 mile trek home.  I challenged Adrian to a race, which got him off to a great start….until he got into deep gravel and crashed…and I may not have been able to stop in time and accidentally ran over his hand with the twins’ trailer (bad mom moment).

Although he informed me he was NOT fine (due to a cut on his knee and slightly smashed hand), he did beautifully on the way home.  I gushed over his success.  He was very proud of himself and even apologized spontaneously for his previous behavior.

So he seemed fine in the end, but I guess we’ll find out how scarred he was when he writes a blog about it in 25 years!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perseverance and parenting

  1. raineality says:

    Haha oh my! That would exhaust me. God knew what he was doing when he kept me childless. 😛

Leave a Reply

