Kindergarten

Adrian started Kindergarten today, which he anticipated with the same enthusiasm as Christmas.

He jumped around, shouting, “I’m soo excited!  I’m so excited!”  while literally shaking and dancing with excitement.

He kept pulling on his shirt.  “Do you like my shirt?  I like my shirt!  Do you think my teacher will like my shirt?  I think she will!  Do you think she’ll like it??”

When the bus finally arrived, he leaped aboard, thrilled to finally be joining Stephen on the magical bus ride and school adventure.

IMG_5651

I left for work, pocketing my phone bearing the requisite adorable first-day-of-school pictures, feeling good that I’d remembered EVERYTHING to get 2 boys started in school: supplies, doctor visits, paperwork, lunches, etc.  Feelin’ like a good mama.

Until I drove 20 minutes up the highway and realized…I entirely forgot to fill out a sheet Adrian was supposed to bring on the first day.  Specifically, information about how he would get home after school.

I called the school office as soon as I could.  I told the secretary my son would be riding the bus home.

“What bus is he on?” She asked.

“I…um…”  I said, scrambling fruitlessly through the school’s website.  I was too busy taking pictures to look at the bus number!  “I’m not sure.  But his big brother Stephen is going on the bus, he just needs to go with his brother.  Stephen knows.”

“Ok,” she said.  “We’ll figure it out.”

That afternoon, Stephen arrived on the babysitter’s doorstep…alone.

“Where is Adrian?”  She asked, beginning to worry.

Stephen’s face fell.  “Adrian!?”  He asked.  “I forgot about Adrian!”

But just as they turned around, Adrian stumbled up with a grin.

Adrian had a great day at school, and even managed to get back home again!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

