The Jake Sandal

When I had one baby, I could only find one shoe.

But now that I am the experienced mother of twins, I can find three times as many shoes. THREE shoes.  Though this is an improvement, the fact remains that odd numbers of shoes are not helpful.

The missing shoe is not just any shoe.  No.  It’s a brand new Jake and the Never Land Pirates sandal.  I bought three pairs of “Jake sandals,” as they are now called: one for Reid, one for Will, and one for Adrian.  Even though I don’t usually match the twins, I got Reid and Will the same shoes so they wouldn’t fight over the “Jake sandals.”  This brilliant plan worked wonderfully for approximately 48 hours.

Then a Jake disappeared.

The entire family spent 20 minutes on Wednesday morning looking for the shoe.  Wednesday night, sandal still MIA, I placed a ransom on the shoe.  “Whoever finds the shoe first wins $1!”  I said, echoing an offer my dad made me and my sister when he misplaced his glasses (which was a lot.  And sparked brutal glasses-hunting competitions).  Stephen and Adrian raced madly around the house, searching desperately to beat each other to the prize, but to no avail.

The “Jake sandal” is still missing; it’s gone to never-never land I suppose.  But one of them can’t just wear a different pair of shoes.  That would be too easy and logical for 2 year olds.  As foreseen, there are fights over the Jake Sandals.  But Reid and Will agree: one Jake sandal is better than no Jake sandal.  So this is what it looks like:

Wanted: 1 size 7 1/2 Jake sandal.  Reward: $1 OBO

Wanted: 1 size 7 1/2 Jake sandal. Reward: $1

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

