Garage Sale

Our HOA planned a neighborhood garage sale today.  Stephen has a box of toys he’s been wanting to sell in order to buy more Pokemon cards.  I thought this was a great opportunity.  So at 7:15 this morning, we set up on the driveway, me with assorted baby items we don’t need anymore, and him and Adrian with a box of toys marked “50 cents each” and a pitcher of Gatorade they were selling at 50 cents for a full cup or 25 cents for a half cup.

The boys went next door to hawk their Gatorade.  I later heard the story from my neighbor’s wife, who said she wished she had videoed the exchange because it was so hilarious.  The neighbor, Mr. K, said he would give them a dollar to share for a cup of Gatorade.  Adrian poured a shot worth of Gatorade in a plastic cup and handed it over.

“That’s all I get!?”  Asked Mr. K.

“Yes,” Adrian responded.  “You got enough!”

Then they chased me down in the bathroom, where I was brushing my teeth, and danced around, waving the pitcher of red Gatorade dangerously and shrieking, “Mr. K gave us a dollar!  Mr. K gave us a dollar!”

I rode my bike around the neighborhood, twins in tow, checking out other sales.  While I looked legos and a piano book, a woman ogled my bike and double trailer.

“Ooh, this is just what I need!  How much for the bike and trailer?”  She asked the garage owner.

“That’s not for sale, it’s hers!”  He responded.

“Darn, it’s all set up like I need,” she said, looking disappointed.

“Sorry.  Do you want twins to go with it?  They are sold separately!”  I joked.

Stephen, to his delight, found two Pokemon books for 25 cents each.  Adrian also found a book.

Will and Reid played in the rocks while we garage shopped, and when I told them to put the rocks down so we could go home, they began to cry.

“Guys!”  I said.  “We have rocks in our yard!  Let’s go home and play with our own rocks.”

They cried tragically until the garage owner said they could have the rocks for free.  So we got legos, books, and two complimentary rocks!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

