Homework

Last week, we survived.  We had a horrible stomach bug that made its way relentlessly and endlessly through the family (Stephen and Eric excluded).  It wasn’t pretty: there were many bodily fluids, there was stress, fighting, and crying, but in the end, we survived.

On such a week, checking Stephen’s homework did not make the priority list.

So this morning, now that the family is back to normal (at least as normal as we get), I went through Stephen’s binder and found last week’s home work sheet–entirely blank.

“Stephen, did you not do your homework last week?” I asked.

“Oh, I did some of it with Grandpa.  But then he took it home in his backpack accidentally.  So I told my teacher and she gave me another copy.  But I didn’t do it because I was too busy playing,” he explained matter of factly.

“!!??  So you just didn’t do it?”

“I was busy!”

I shook my head.  “Ok, whatever.  I’m putting your blank homework back in your binder and you can handle it with your teacher,” I said.

“Ok,” he said.  And he wrote her a note:

"Mrs. L I forgot about fluency cause I was busy playing."

“Mrs. L I forgot about fluency cause I was busy playing.”

To which she replied:

"Thanks for letting me know.  Please do all the work tonight and bring it back tomorrow."

“Thanks for letting me know. Please do all the work tonight and bring it back tomorrow.”

 

He told me he had to do it now or he’d be in trouble tomorrow!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homework

  1. raineality says:

    Haha that is cute!

  2. paulg78 says:

    He did it Tuesday with me and also told me hid did it on Monday so I signed off on those days. But as Stephen said, the evidence mysteriously ended up in my backpack.

Leave a Reply

