Gray-s

We have resident rabbits in our neighborhood, but of course the boys think there’s only one.  We’ve seen it hopping around yards, and with all the recent snow, we’ve seen lots of bunny footprints.

IMG_4939 IMG_4944Stephen, Adrian and I went to look for him and see if we could find his house.  Sadly, we didn’t find him.  It may not have helped that Adrian was shouting, “Bunny!  Bunny!  Come here!” At the top of his lungs.  After I told him that you have to be quiet when looking for animals because they get scared, he reduced the volume to a loud whisper.  Still no bunny.

Stephen looks avidly for the bunny’s home, and has showed me a few possible hiding spots, like this one in our neighbor’s yard:

Possible rabbit home, according to Stephen

Possible rabbit home, according to Stephen

“I thought he might live here because it’s flattened out at the bottom, and sheltered, and it looks like a nice place to live,” he explained.

One evening when we were discussing our dinner question: “What was the worst thing about your day and the best thing about your day?”  Stephen said the worst thing was he saw something gray in the street on the way to the bus stop and thought it was the bunny’s body after being hit by a car.  The best thing about his day was when he looked more closely and realized it wasn’t the bunny after all but just a “little gray thing.”

Stephen has followed the bunny-prints in the snow and asked me for a pet rabbit.  “Well,” I said, “I had a pet bunny when I was your age and lived in Germany.  His name was ‘Blitz’ which is German for ‘Lightning’ because his face was black but he had a white line on his nose that Aunt Beth and I thought looked like lightning.  He got adopted by a different family when we moved back to the US.  But I don’t know, we’ll have to think and talk more about you getting a bunny.  What should we name our neighborhood bunny?”

Stephen thought for a moment.  “Grace!”  He said with a big grin.  “Because it’s gray, so gray-s, Grace!”  He looked delighted.  “So when can we get my bunny?”

I laughed.  “I don’t know!  That’s a big responsibility.  We’ll have to talk about it more.”

He grinned.  “Ok.  I can’t wait to get my bunny!”

I think we’ll stick to neighborhood bunnies for now…they’re a lot less trouble!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gray-s

Leave a Reply

