Will’s Snow Adventure

This morning, Adrian wanted to go outside to play in the snow.  We rummaged up the snow pants, boots, hat, and gloves required to play outside in 5 degree weather.  As soon as Will saw Adrian go out, he began frantically flailing to get out of his high chair and join big brother.

IMG_4321

Me:  “Will, you can go outside, but not in your PJ’s!  You need to get dressed first.”

Will, with his face pressed against the sliding glass door:  Out out out out!!!!  Go go go go!!!  Why is my mommy taking me away from the door?  I don’t like that!  That’s the wrong way!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “Will, we have to change your diaper and get you dressed if you want to go out!”

Will:  Out out out out!!!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

I wrangled a screaming, flailing toddler into snow pants, boots, hat, and gloves.  “Will!  I am getting you ready to go out!  Calm down!  Ok, there.  All dressed.”

IMG_4323

Will:  Yay, the door magically opened, out out out…Why did Mom smash my feet into these funny things?  Where did my hands go?  I don’t like that!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “Do you not like your mittens?  You’re going to get cold!”

Will:  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “Ok, fine, I’ll take your mittens off.  Are you happy now?”

Will:  Yay, my hand is back!  Ow, whoa, white stuff got on my finger!  It’s cold and weird!  I don’t like that!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “I told you your hand would get cold if you took off your mittens!  Here, we can put them back on again.”

Will:  Oh good she saved my hand from the white stuff.  But wait, now she put a thing on my hand again!  Where did my hand go?  I don’t like that!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “If you want to play in the snow in 5 degree weather, you have to wear a hat, mittens, and boots.”

IMG_4324

Will:  Why did Mom put all this tight stuff on me?  These aren’t my shoes!  Where are my hands?  I don’t like this!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “Mittens or no mittens?  You can be cold or wear mittens.  There is no middle ground here.”

Will:  Yay that thing is off my hand.  Oh no, cold white stuff again!  

IMG_4325

I don’t understand this!  I don’t like this!  What is going on with my hands?  And my feet??  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

Me:  “Fine, if you don’t want to wear anything, then just come back inside again.  Come on!  Let’s get your mittens and boots off.  Inside!”

Will:  Oh no!  I’m on the wrong side of the door again!  But I found my hands!  But I want to go outside!  I don’t like this!  WAAAAH WAAAH WAAAH WAAAAH!!!!!

And that was our fun-filled snow adventure!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Kid Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

