The “Sh-” word

Moo-oom, Adrian said the ‘sh-‘ word!”  Stephen informed me, with Adrian in tow.

“Really?”  I asked, surprised.  I had never heard that word out of Adrian, and was a little skeptical that he knew it.

“What ‘sh-‘ word?”  I asked, hoping we were not actually talking about THE ‘sh-‘ word, but its socially acceptable cousin, “shoot.”

“Do you even know what the ‘sh-‘ word is?”  Asked Stephen.

“Ummm…” I hedged.  I didn’t want to teach it to him if he didn’t already know it!  “I think so…”

“Do you want me to tell you the ‘sh-‘ word?”  Asked Stephen.

“Sure,” I said, to figure out what we were really talking about.  “What is the ‘sh-‘ word?”

“Ok, I’ll tell you.  Sh*t.”  He said.

Well, sh*t.  My little angels cursing already.

“How did Adrian learn that word?” I asked.

“E taught it to A, who told it to Adrian, and now Adrian really likes to say it,” explained Stephen.  Adrian nodded happily.

“Ok.  Well, look, guys, that’s not a nice word and you shouldn’t say it.  God wants us to use nice, kind words, and–”

“I KNOW,” Stephen cut me off.  “I KNOW I KNOW.  And I NEVER say it.  I just said it so you would know what it was.  Sheesh.”

“Ok, good.  As long as you guys know not to say it because it’s a bad word.  Right?”

They nodded their little heads and ran off to play.  Right.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Kid Quotes, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

