Best Mommy

Adrian loves to love me.  Every day, multiple times, he’ll suddenly say:

“I love you too, Mom!”

or

“You’re the best mom.  You’re my best mom ever!”

He also gives many compliments.  Last week, he told me,  “Wow Mom, that shirt is awesome!  And your pants?  They be awesome, too!”

We’ve also been having some rough mornings.  His latest obsession is filling his backpack so full of books, clothes, toys, and stuffed animals that he can barely zip it, much less carry it.  I limit what he’s allowed to take to preschool, and he throws mega tantrums when I reduce his stuffed backpack to necessary items only.  This morning was no exception, and he was hysterically crying getting his shoes on.

I gave him a big hug.  “I love you, Adrian.  I’m sorry you are having a tough morning.  I love you.  You’re my best Adrian ever!”

“You’re….sob….sob….hiccup….sob….my…hic…best….sob….sob….sob…mom!”

I patted his back until he calmed down.  For once after a tantrum, I actually felt like his best mom.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Jenny's thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Mommy

  1. paulg78 says:

    Adrian was funny this weekend. He kept calling his Uncle Ben “eye doctor”. As in “hey, eye doctor, look at my purple phone.” At the AF Academy visitor center, we met a cadet and I asked Adrian if he would like go to school there and wear a uniform like the cadet was wearing. Adrian’s answer was “no, I like white”, the color of the uniform he saw his cousin from the Naval Academy wearing. The AF cadet warned him about the Navy: “no, you don’t want to wear white.”

Leave a Reply

