Second Grade

Stephen started second grade today.  While we were waiting at the bus stop, he looked like this:

20140807-202311.jpg 20140807-202301.jpg 20140807-202248.jpg

When I got home from work, I was eager to hear about his first day at his new school.

“Stephen, how was your first day of second grade?”

“AWESOME!”  He yelled, hi-fiving me enthusiastically.

“Great!  What did you do?  Tell me all about it!”

“Not right now,” he said, and ran off to build a ship out of legos.

He returned and explained the many features of his lego-transformer-ship with cannons that could shoot out of various holes.

“Mmm-hmm,” I said.  “But I really want to hear about your first day of school.  Can you tell me more about it?”

“Not now,” he said.  “When I’m done building.”

At dinner: “Stephen, tell me all about your day at school!”

“Well,” he said, “Scared, shy, surprised, excited, happy, over-tired.  I mean, exhausted.  From playing on the playground.”

“What surprised you?”

“I don’t know.  I just felt surprised some.”

And he would not comment further on his day.  I felt surprised that he described his day in a list of emotions.  I don’t think I could list that many emotions for my day!

I also found this in his folder:

Stephen 2nd grade

(In case you’re wondering, number 4 says, “play rock, paper, scissors, shoot”)

I think we’re off to a good start for the new school year!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Kid Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Second Grade

  1. If only all of the conflict in the world could be solved with rock, paper, scissors, what a world this would be. I wonder if the Israeli’s and Hamas or the Ukrainians and rebels thought of that idea?

  2. raineality says:

    Aw, he is too cute! I can’t believe he’s in second grade already. I like that his teacher does a social contract, too. Clever. Beth has a good point, I think she should send her idea to the President and have him suggest it.

Leave a Reply

