The Talk

Stephen and I had “the talk” in the car yesterday.  Don’t worry!  Not the talk you’re thinking of!  The OTHER talk.  The drugs/alcohol talk.  (Although I have explained that babies happen when seeds in a mommy’s tummy get together with seeds from the daddy’s tummy.  I just never told him how those seeds “get together.”  And he didn’t ask.  So, that’s for another day!)

It all started with a homeless woman holding a sign when we were stopped at a light.

“Mommy, why do people hold up signs on the street sometimes?”

“Well, they are usually homeless.  They don’t have a house or a job, so they ask people to give them money.”

Which led us down the road to how people get homeless, how to best help them, and addiction.  We talked for a long time in the car about these issues; Stephen is a very thoughtful boy.

I told him about peer pressure and warned that someday, someone at school may have drugs and offer it to him.  He was shocked.  “What!?  I didn’t even know that could happen!”  He responded.

He asked classic questions like “If you get drunk, do you stay drunk forever?”  And I said classic mom things like, “If you try cigarettes, you will get addicted and get cancer and die.”

At the end, Stephen said, “Mom, I really like having these talks with you.  I really like it.”

I said, “I like having these talks with you, too.  There are a lot of choices to make in life, and it’s not always easy to make the right ones.  But that’s why Daddy and I are here, we can always talk with you and help you think about making  good choices.”

I think that was the best conclusion of all!

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Kid Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Talk

  1. raineality says:

    Yay! Good talk, Mom!

Leave a Reply

