The Sell

When you’re a mom, you have to jazz up the stuff you want your kids to do and downplay what you don’t.  For example, when Stephen and Adrian were wheezing with likely RSV and had to get nebulizer breathing treatments:

Me: “Oh wow!  What a cool fish mask on this neat tube!  It makes noise and blows air, how great!  Wouldn’t you like to wear this cool fish mask while smoke comes out?”

Naive 1 & 3 year olds:  “Yeah, cool!  I want do to it!  Me first!”

Or when I’m going out with my friends and they want to come:

“No, you guys don’t want to come, it’ll be really boring.  Just a lot of mommies sitting around talking, yuck, boring.  With no toys or anything!  You don’t want to do that.  You’ll have so much more fun playing at home with Daddy!”

But now that they are 3 and 6, it’s getting harder because sometimes I have to sell opposite things in the presence of the other.  As in:

A: “I want to ride the bus with Stephen!”

Me:  “You’re too little, honey.  But don’t worry, we’re going to have lots of fun today!  We’ll play all day and maybe we can go to the park with the babies!”

A:  “Oh, ok!”

S:  “You’re going to the park? I want to stay home and play too!”

Me:  “Stephen, you’ll have so much more fun riding the bus and playing with your friends at school!  It’s going be boring at home, I have to clean the house, and the little kids will probably all take naps….”

S:  “Ew, naps!”

A:  “Naps!!??  I want to go to school with Stephen!  I want to play with friends!”

Me:  “Just a little nap!  But mostly playing!  We’re going to have lots of fun at home!”

S:  “I want to stay home, too!”

Me:  “Stephen, no, it’s going to be so boring at home!  And you have so much fun at school!  But Adrian, school is boring, we’re going to have lots of fun playing at home!”

 

Hmmm…now that they’re older, I’m going to have to update and improve my sales tactics.  I need to develop an opposite kid sales technique!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

