Disney World


wd022wdw201415482235987

 

Do you remember Disney World?  So do I.  It was AWESOME; I saw princesses, and Mickey, and rode rides–I was transported into an amazing fantasy world.  We took our kids to Disney, and….it’s not really like that.

It’s hot.  The lines are ridiculously long.  They gouge you at every turn.  It’s packed with pushy people.  The rides are ok, but not worth the 30-60 minute wait to get onto ANY of them.  And that’s after the hassle of packing enough snacks, drinks, sunscreen, etc. to keep 4 pale, hungry boys fed, watered, and in their natural white state.  And the monstrous jogging stroller required to transport twin babies & supplies around Disney!  Don’t even get me started on the stroller (and Cliff and Eric were the main ones who had to lug that monster around).

When my family went, I remember my dad saying he felt like a “prisoner of Disney World” and my mom being incomprehensibly grateful for the air conditioning and length of Pirates of the Caribbean.  Now I totally understand what they meant by all that!

We did have fun, and I’m sure the boys saw it all through kids’ eyes–I hope they saw the wonder and imagination and forgot about the lines and heat.  They certainly don’t have to worry about any of the logistics or expense of taking such a trip.  Today, they are happily playing with their Pirates of the Caribbean swords and Star Wars light sabers.  We grownups are unpacking and napping, exhausted from the experience.  I still feel like I’m swaying back and forth.  It’s sad being a lame grownup with motion sickness.  Excuse me, I need to go lie down again….

wd008wdw201415481973767

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

