Weaning

I love breastfeeding.  I do.  I love the closeness, the bonding, the tranquility.  I love that the milk is always the right temperature, I don’t have to worry about forgetting it, and it’s the best baby soother ever.  Stephen was a devoted nurser, and nursed for 45 minutes at a time since birth.  I loved our long nursing snuggling sessions.  But at precisely 12 months of age, he literally walked away from the breast, preferring the sippy cup better suited to his active lifestyle.  Feeling a little abandoned, but also a little relieved to spend more time with my shirt on, I returned to normal bras and awaited the next baby.

Adrian’s surgery and 2 week stay in the NICU got breastfeeding off to a rocky start.  And unlike Stephen, the marathon nurser, Adrian fit the nursing style coined by Dr. Sears, “Mr. suck-a-little-look-a-lot” and I gave up trying to get him to suck more and look less around 10 months.

And then….the twins.  The “tranquil bonding” aspect of nursing is significantly diminished with two babies.  Either you nurse one while the other cries, impatiently waiting his turn in the boob line, or you tandem nurse them, which is a bit of an acrobatic feat.  With practice, tandem nursing became our habit, and while not as easy as one baby, we enjoyed our team nursing sessions.

Image

As the twins have gotten more mobile, squiggly, and playful, tandem nursing has become almost a comedy routine.  And nursing one at time is impossible unless I hide…there is no way one twin will stand for the other being nursed without him.  At 13 months old, I have nursed them longer than either of the other boys, but as my last babies (!!!), I am reluctant to give up this unique aspect of babyhood.  But when the following dialogue comes out of your mouth:

“Reid!  Don’t slap Will while he’s eating!  Ow, it doesn’t stretch that far!  No biting!  Will, keep your hands to yourself.  Ok…ok…guys, focus!  Adrian, don’t distract them while they’re nursing!  Will, pick a nipple and stick to it…Reid was sucking that one….it’s ok, Reid, you can be on this side now.  Ok, but DRINK the milk…now it’s spraying everywhere, someone suck it!  Come on guys, you’re getting us all wet!  Ok, good, no, I said don’t bite!”

It may be time to wean.

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weaning

  1. ursulamarie says:

    I’m so impressed with moms who are able to breastfeed twins! Seems like quite the feat. Anyway you are lucky that your older kiddos were able to self-wean. I’m trying to wean my toddler and it can be quite the battle at times.

    • jennyvogan says:

      Thanks! I am glad they weren’t my first babies, it would have been a lot more difficult if it was my first nursing experience! I work part time, so I think that made it easier to wean…they had experience with bottles, too! Good luck weaning your little one 🙂

  2. raineality says:

    Haha I’m sorry, but that photo cracks me up. 😛 You amaze me, as always.

Leave a Reply

