The Return Part I

I needed to return a box of party supplies, and debated whether I could do it with Adrian and the twins in tow.  I was planning a trip to the library, and decided we could stop by the post office afterward.  We had a great time at the library, and I buckled everyone into the van brimming with confidence in my ability to go to the post office with 3 kids.  I parked, unloaded the stroller with babies, and *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* and then *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* went into the post office.  There were 2 people ahead of me in line.  Great, I thought, we’ll have this done in no time!  When a little voice uttered those dreaded words:  “Mommy!  I haffa go potty!”  I looked at Adrian hopefully.  “Can you hold it, honey?”

He started to cry and bounce around.  “Ok, ok, let’s see what we can find,” I said.  I pushed *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* the stroller into the lobby.  No bathroom.  I pushed *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* the stroller back outside and looked around.  Nothing.  We walked to the side of the building.  Adrian was now dancing around frantically.

“Well,” I said, “Find a tree hon!  There aren’t any bathrooms around!”

He ran to a tree on the side of the building and did his business.  Then we *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* and then *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* went back into the post office.  In the 5 minutes we’d been gone, a big line had formed!  We got in line, Adrian telling me how hungry he was, and I pushed the stroller back and forth in the little space I had to try to keep the babies from fussing.

Patience….patience….patience….almost there….patience…this isn’t so bad….patience…..whining….patience…whining….whining…..patience….

Finally, we reached the front of the line.  I gave the mailman my box, feeling triumphant.  He took it, looked at it, and informed me, “I can’t take this.  This is UPS, not USPS.  See here?  You have to go to the UPS store over by Safeway.  Sorry!  Next!”

I mumbled a “thank you” as he moved on to the next customer and fought back tears.  We *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* and then *oof, heavy-not-stroller-friendly door* left the post office and returned to the van, box still in hand.  I decided to try again another day.

My awesome good luck mojo has deserted me!

To be continued….

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Return Part I

  1. Rainey says:

    Haha oh no! I guess I spoke too soon. Sigh… I shall await the conclusion of this story with eager anticipation.

Leave a Reply

