Because I said so!

Remember how before you had kids, you’d see moms doing/saying less than stellar things, cluck your tongue, narrow your eyes, and think, when I have kids, I’m NEVER going to do/say XXXXX?  And now that you are a mom, you’ve pretty much done/said most of ALL those things?  Apparently God has a list, and keeps track of those moments, and revisits you with EXACTLY that scenario to teach you a lesson about judging others.  So those of you without kids, be forewarned and don’t judge me when my kid is having a fit at Walmart and I’m losing my cool.  God is watching you.

One of my “when I’m a mom, I’ll never….”s was the phrase “because I said so.”  Really!?  How lame.  Respect your child enough to give him a real answer!  Now, I can’t even count how often I answer “because I said so.”  Let me describe a typical morning with Adrian.  Don’t forget that I also have TWIN BABIES I’m dressing/changing/feeding while all this happens.

“Adrian, let’s have breakfast!”

“Why?”

“Because we’re hungry!”

“Can I have cheerios?”

“Sure!”

“Why?”

“Because I’m a great mommy and I love you.”

**************

“Use your spoon to eat the cheerios!”

“Why?”

“Because it’s bad manners and it’s messy to eat with your fingers.”

***************

“Don’t poke the baby in the face.”

crying baby….

“Why?”

“Because it hurts him.  Be gentle with your brothers!”

***************

“Ok, time to get dressed!”

“Why?”

“Because you have to go to school!”

“Why?”

“Because you have to learn and get smart.”

************

“Put on your pants.”

“Why?”

“Because you don’t want to have cold legs!”

“Put on your shirt/socks/shoes…..”

“Why why why?”

“Because you need to be dressed to go to school!”

“Put on your jacket.”

“Why?”

“Because it’s cold out!  Go potty before we leave.”

“Why?”

“Because you don’t want to have an accident at school.”

“Get in the car and buckle your seatbelt.”

“Why?”

“Because we have to go to school and I don’t want you to die a horrible death if we get in an accident!  Don’t forget your backpack!”

“Why?”

“BECAUSE I SAID SO!  I SAID GET IN THE CAR WITH YOUR BACKPACK AND BUCKLE YOUR SEATBELT!  DO IT NOW!!!”

And that’s only by 8:15 in the morning, people!  

(For a funny version of a mom’s day set to music, click here!)

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Kid Quotes, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Because I said so!

  1. Rainey says:

    Haha oh Jenny. Trust me, I have never judged a mom for saying “because I said so.” Heck, I say it to my coworkers sometimes. “Wouldn’t it be easier if we did it this way? Why do I need to do it that way.” Well… “because I said so, okay! That’s just the way it’s done!” I give you all the credit in the world for giving real answers to so many questions before getting to that stage. I would have cracked at the second question. 😛

Leave a Reply

