Phone Magic

The phone is somehow a magical instrument that makes my kids desperately need things.  Everyone will be happily, independently playing until….the phone rings.

“Hello?”  I answer.

Immediately, 4 little heads pop up and the babies start crawling toward me.  Stephen and Adrian suddenly remember how hungry and thirsty they are.  Within seconds, 2 babies are pulling on my pant legs, Adrian is pulling on my shirt saying, “Hey Mommy?  Hey Mommy?”  Stephen is opening the refrigerator asking, “Can I have a snack?”

When I shoo them off with a whispered, “Go away!  I’ll talk to you in a minute!  Mommy is on the phone!”  They ALL start crying.  They need it RIGHT NOW!  

Last Saturday when I was being assailed by 4 kids while trying to talk to my mom, I hid in the bathroom and locked the door so I could talk in peace.  There was 1 minute of screaming, followed by silence, and when I emerged, everyone was once again happily playing.  Until the next phone call…

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

