Adrian’s Day

At dinner last week, I tried to explain Valentine’s Day to Adrian.

“Adrian, on Friday it’s going to be Valentine’s Day!  That’s a special day when you get to tell all your friends and family how much you love them.  You’re going to have a party at school!”

“For my birthday?”

“No, not your birthday.  It’s Valentine’s Day.  Where you tell people you love them!”

“How old I be?  For my birthday?”

“You’ll be four.  But it’s not your birthday.  It’s Valentine’s Day.”

“I have a bounce house and presents?  Be four?”

“No, honey!  You won’t get a bounce house.  It’s VALENTINES DAY!”

Adrian turned to Stephen, smiling brightly, “It my birthday ‘morrow, Stephen!”

Stephen laughed and laughed.  “Adrian!  It’s NOT your birthday!  It’s Valentine’s Day!  You get candy at school!”

Adrian’s face soured instantly.  He punched Stephen in the shoulder.  “NO!  It not!  You no say dat!  It my birthday!”

Stephen giggled and looked at me.  “He’s not getting it!”

I tried again.  “Adrian.  It’s NOT your birthday.  It’s a different day, called Valentine’s Day, where everyone has a party and you get candy and cards.”

Adrian thought for a moment.  “I get lollipops all my friends?”

“Sure,” I said.  “You’ll get lollipops from all your friends.”

“Red ones and pink and blue and green and orange?  And a bounce house?”

“No.  No bounce house.  Just lollipops.”

“Oh.  Ok.”  He grinned at Stephen.  “I get lollipops all my friends!”

By golly, I think he’s got it!  The true spirit of Valentine’s Day.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Kid Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

