We forgot Stephen!!!

Remember when you first heard the premise of the movie “Home Alone”? And you’re thinking, “Oh, come on, a mom forgets her kid at home and flies to Paris? Please. That wouldn’t happen. And what kind of horrible mother is this anyway!?” But then you see the movie and think, “Oooooh. Yeah, that could happen.”

So that was me yesterday (kind of).

You have to know a little background first. Usually, my wonderful Aunt Julie comes over to our house when I work and nannies the babies. So when Stephen gets off the bus and comes home, she’s here. However, she had a Christmas luncheon and couldn’t come over yesterday, so I made arrangements for the babies to go to their babysitter’s house (where Adrian goes). You see where this is going.

When I pulled out of the driveway after a hectic morning of dressing kids, changing diapers, packing lunches, etc. I had the strange feeling that I’d forgotten something. I ran through my mental checklist: Trash out, yup. Doors locked, yup. Got my lunch and purse, check. Babies and Adrian? Ok, Eric driving them to Linda’s house. He’ll pick them up later. Stephen? At school, check. Eric gets home at 5, me 5:30….ok. All good. But….I still have a bad feeling about something…hm….what what what….OH MY GOSH! STEPHEN! No one will be home when he gets off the bus after school!!!  At least Kevin was HOME alone!  Stephen would be LOCKED OUT alone!

My awesome neighbor who frequently watches Stephen after school had an appointment, so she wouldn’t be home either. Eric was teaching a class at 2:25 and couldn’t get coverage. BUT he had a free hour at 1:30, so he picked Stephen up from school early and dropped him off at Linda’s with the other boys.

Phew! At least I remembered before he came home and was wandering the street cold and alone!

And then this morning I realized he took an empty lunch box to school. It was just in his bag from yesterday, and no one took it out and put more lunch in it! Don’t worry, I emailed his teacher to have him buy lunch so he doesn’t sit down at his table and open up an empty lunch box!

Thus far, I’m managing to intervene and avoid tragedy…unlike Kevin’s mom in Paris….

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
Video | This entry was posted in Adventures, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

