Night Bumbling

Sheesh…ANOTHER post on sleep (really lack thereof).  Are you sick of this topic yet?  I am, but unfortunately my life revolves around trying to sleep, so I’m stuck.  But if you’re sick of it, click along and read about something cute that Stephen or Adrian said recently.  That never gets old.

For those of you who choose to read on, I dedicate this post to my in-laws, the Vogans, who are huge supporters of my blog (thanks guys!).  They also find our parenting struggles HILARIOUS…like the worse it is, the harder Sue is laughing while she sips wine coolers in her pool in Florida (I’m kidding, I love you dearly Sue and I’m happy you’re laughing because of my blog!  It makes writing fun.  Also, I totally get the mom-payback thing and believe me, I will enjoy the twins’ parenting woes IMMENSELY in 30 years.  Especially if they have twins.  And especially if I’m retired and floating in a pool in FL.)  So Vogans, this one’s for you!

We were doing better with sleeping, the babies occasionally slept through the night (one at a time of course, never together, but still), they were sleeping in their own room; we were doing ok.  But the last few nights they have been up hourly again for some reason.

So last night, I got up at 11:30, 12:30, 1:30…and when I was going to put Reid back in his crib at 1:30, I LITERALLY PHYSICALLY couldn’t open my eyes.  I was in the hallway with the baby, trying to find the door to his bedroom which is approximately 5 feet across the hall from my bedroom door.  I couldn’t find the door because I couldn’t open my eyes no matter how much I kept trying.  So I blundered into the wall a couple of times, trying to feel my way while also holding a baby.  I finally found the door and placed Reid into the crib.  It occurred to me as I turned to leave that I felt something warm when I put Reid down and realized…I had put Reid in the wrong crib, and therefore on top of Will.  I fished Reid back out and put him in the correct (and vacant!) crib.

I stumbled back to bed and informed Eric that the next time a baby squeaked, it was HIS problem and DO NOT DISTURB ME UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BECAUSE I MUST SLEEP!

After this lovely night, at 6:30 am, Reid pooped out of his diaper and had poop down his legs and even managed to get it in the toes of his PJ’s and all over his sheets.  I washed him in the sink while Eric cleaned everything else up.  No sooner did we manage that disaster when we heard Will making disturbing bubbly noises…and he did the exact same thing!  So we bathed 2 babies and did a load of laundry, all by 7 am before work this morning.

So Vogans, hope you enjoyed that one…Sue, have an extra wine cooler/margarita for me and enjoy the pool!  Love you!!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Night Bumbling

  1. Just so you know, these posts make me giggle as well 🙂 which is why I decided to start my own blog, that way you can have the opportunity to get some comic relief as well 😉 love you!

  2. Rainey says:

    Oh my goodness… I am so sorry you are dealing with this! I can’t even imagine how upsetting this has to be. Actually, I can imagine how upset I would be if this were me, so this makes me feel extra bad for you. Love you guys and I’m praying for a quick resolution to this sleeping problem!

  3. Krista says:

    I almost feel bad for how hard I laughed at this. Here’s hoping for some good sleep in your near future!

Leave a Reply

