Sleep Wars: The Battle Rages On

Two steps forward, one step back (or in twin terms, four steps forward, two steps back): the twins’ permanent beds are now their own cribs in their own room.  However, one of the two sleeps in our bed most of the night on the twin merry-go-round.  One of them wakes up by midnight and then every three hours thereafter while the other sleeps all night except for nursing around 2am (they alternate who wakes up and who sleeps.  They had a meeting and formed a twin-spiracy to never sleep well on the same night.  That would just be too easy for Mom and Dad).

I am sleeping better and feeling more rested, but am frustrated because I still don’t sleep more than 2 hours in a row.  The first waker really gets me.  We go to bed at 10, and the first baby wakes up by 12, so I can’t get a block of sleep.  If I could sleep 4 hours in a row, I think I’d feel a lot better.  Eric and I talked and agreed to take shifts.  Eric will take the first shift, letting me sleep until 2 or 3, and I’ll take the second half of the night so he can sleep.  While we had both agreed to The Plan, one person was set stubbornly against it: Baby Will.

Due to either nature or conditioning (you be the judge), he has decided that he should nurse to sleep 99.9% of the time.  Since having the twins, Eric and I each take care of a baby for the evening.  Somehow, I always end up with Will and he always ends up with Reid.  When we were splitting them at night, Will slept with me and nursed while Reid slept downstairs with Eric and drank bottles.  I don’t remember why we worked it out that way (consistency?  Will’s already emerging breast addiction?)–I guess we should have traded them off.  But whatever the reason–whether Will was fussier and ended up with Mommy, or that Mommy always took Will and so he ended up fussy with Daddy–Will is not going for a breast-less man comforting him back to sleep.

The night we instituted The Plan, Will woke up at 12:00 am as usual.  Eric immediately went in to comfort, pat, rock, etc (we are trying to put them back to sleep without feeding that early if possible, since they really aren’t hungry.)  From my bed, I heard, “Waaaah!  Aaaaaah!  Eeeeaaaawawawawawawa!”

Then footsteps on the stairs as Eric took Will downstairs to feed him a bottle.

“Heh-heh-heh-heh-aaaaaaa-heh-heh-heh-heh,” said Will (we have learned that heh-heh-heh is twin-ese for FEED ME!)

Then silence.  Then, “Waaaah!  AAAAAH!!!!  AAAAHAAAHAAAAHAAAAAAAHAAAAHAAAA!”  (we have learned that this is Will-ese for GIVE ME TO MOMMY IMMEDIATELY!)

Footsteps on the stairs…bedroom door opening…Will in my bed, nursing despite the 5 oz bottle he just chugged.  And sweet snuffly suckly baby sleep.  So much for my block of sleep….maybe better luck when Reid is the waker…..waaaaaah!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

