Therapy

Adrian had his evaluation for vision therapy today, and I DO NOT like his therapist.  I liked her just fine until she finished her evaluation and informed me, “He’s a little developmentally behind.”

WHAT!?  Eh?  Did you JUST SAY that my little boy ISN’T the awesomest, bestest, cutest, smartest kid you’ve ever seen?  AAAaaaarrrgh…you have awakened the anger of the mamma bear!  My baby is perfect (which, I admit, I may be prejudiced about)!

“What do you mean ‘behind’?  How is he ‘behind’?” 

(Didn’t he thread the bead on the flippin’ string when you asked him to, stack the little blocks, draw a semi-straight line, circle the bird with an orange marker, and put the peg in the hole?  AND I told you he dresses himself, is potty trained, and occasionally uses silverware?)

“Well, it’s hard to say specifically.  This is a global evaluation, so I can just say that generally, he’s a little developmentally behind.  It may be because of his vision, or it may just be where he is right now.  So we’ll start vision therapy and see if it helps.”

Whatever, lady.

But then I remembered, the reason he’s getting evaluated is because I thought he needed help in the first place.  If I thought everything was ok, I wouldn’t be signing him up for therapy.  So really, she’s agreeing with me.  And I do dearly love being right…perhaps she can be forgiven for her evaluation.

As long as we’re all on the same page that my kids are the cutest and bestest, right?

 

 

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

