There was a crooked boy

Adrian has always been our…shall we say unique child.

Starting in the delivery room when he was 1 minute old:

Delivery room nurse:  “I think he has intestine in his umbilical cord…”

Diagnosis: minor umbilical hernia (I have posts describing Adrian’s detailed birth story)

5 minutes old:

Eric: “I counted the baby’s fingers and toes, and he has ten toes, but they’re…weird.  And 2 are stuck together.”

Diagnosis: minor syndactyly, which is a fancy medical term for he has 2 toes stuck together.  (“Don’t worry about it,” the NICU nurse assured us, “It just means he’ll be a good swimmer.”)

2 weeks old:

Eric:  “This baby only looks to the left.  His head is always turned left.”

Me:  “That’s crazy!  Don’t be ridiculous.  He doesn’t only look left!  My baby is perfect!”

4 weeks old:

Me:  “This baby only looks to the left!”  I took him to the doctor (props to the receptionist who didn’t laugh at me when she asked what he was seeing the doctor for and I responded, “Um…excessive left looking?”)

Diagnosis: Torticollis, fancy medical term for his neck muscles are tight and he can’t straighten out his head

5 weeks old:

My mom:  “Did you notice this baby’s eyes are really wiggly?  It’s like he can’t hold his eyes still.”

Me:  “That’s crazy!  Don’t be ridiculous.  His eyes are fine.  My baby is perfect!”

6 weeks old:

Me: “This baby’s eyes are really wiggly!”  I took him to the doctor…

Diagnosis: nystagmus, fancy medical term for “wiggly eyes”

2 1/2 years old:

Eric: “I think he’s left handed!”

Me:  “Really?”

To sum up:

Umbilical hernia: surgically corrected, check

Syndactyly: Good swimmer, future Michael Phelps, check

Torticollis: physical therapy from 3-6months old, corrected head position, check

nystagmus: May or may not affect his vision, we’ll know when he can read an eye chart, check

Left handedness: Joining the ranks of Ronald Reagan and Benjamin Franklin, buy left handed scissors, check

And we’re all good, moved on with our lives.  Until….in June, I took Adrian to the eye doctor for his annual appointment.

Me: “I think he’s all good!  He doesn’t tilt or turn his head anymore.  He looks perfect to me!”

Dr: “No, he still has the nystagmus and a 5 degree head tilt and 5 degree angle.  He probably holds his head that way to try to find the null point of his vision.  We’ll know more when he can read an eye chart.  See you next year!”

I went home and informed Eric.  “The doctor says he’s still tilting and turning his head!”

“I know, he still does it.”

“What!?  He does?  Why didn’t you tell me!”

“I thought you already knew!  Whenever he comes up to you he tilts his head to the right.  You think it’s just to be cute, but then you realize he always does it.  See?”

IMG_6043 IMG_5541 IMG_1329  IMG_6029

OOOOOHHHHHHHHHH………that head tilt.

3 years old:

The pediatrician recommended a PT evaluation to see if his head position is still from the torticollis or if he purposefully holds his head that way for clearer vision.  We are working on strengthening Adrian’s neck at PT, and in the process of getting him enrolled in occupational therapy to work on his vision….hopefully we’ll get him straightened out soon!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There was a crooked boy

  1. Carol st. Clair says:

    In addition to being a great swimmer he will also be a great tennis player. Rod laver and john McEnroe were both great left handed players!!!

  2. Paul Gilbert says:

    Adrian is also unique in his fascination with lights. Wherever we go, he races around finding lights and pointing them out with great intensity … somewhat dimmed in recent months as he has moved on to other interests. Although unique in his enthusiasm, a recent article in the Gazette shows he shares his obsession with Ryan Walton from Colorado Springs, who turned his interest into an independent film called “Light Me Up”. http://lightmeupfilm.com/
    “I had a fascination with lightbulbs,” Walton said. “My parents tell me a story that when I was 2 or 3, they would have to hold me up to all the light switches in every house we went to, so I could turn them on and off and figure out which switch went with each light.”

Leave a Reply

