The Pink Eye

Image

It all started three Saturdays ago when Stephen called from the bathroom, “Hey Mom!  Did you ever notice that my eye looks kinda funny?”

“What do you mean your eye looks fun…whoa.  Holy cow, dude.”

I entered the bathroom to see Stephen with his eye bright red and swollen half shut, looking like someone had punched him.  “Um…yeah, your eye does look funny.  I definitely notice that.”

Allergies, we decided.  We asked my cousin’s husband (an eye doctor) what he thought and he said, “The main way you tell if it’s pink eye is if the rest of the family gets it.”

The next morning, I woke up with my eye swollen and bright red.  Pink eye, we decided.

I treated both of us with antibiotic eye drops I had left over from a pink eye episode in May.  It cleared up, I washed all the towels and sheets, and threw away my makeup.

On Friday, Adrian came in my room and said, “Hey Mom!  Look mah eye!”

Image

Nooooooooooo!!!!!!  I don’t want to look your eye!!!!!  Gooey, red eyes, as expected…

We treated it, and when it cleared up, we washed the sheets, towels, bathrooms, and bath toys.  Phew, another pink eye episode behind us!

Until my twin sister called to say she had it….

And I woke up with crusty red eyes again yesterday….

And Reid woke up with gooey eyes….

And Will woke up with gooey eyes….

The boys are calling it “The Pink Eye,” which is appropriate, because it’s like “The Plague.”  Stephen wouldn’t kiss me before school this morning for fear of The Pink Eye!

I am pouring antibiotic drops and breast milk in my and the babies eyes constantly.  I washed all the linens AGAIN and if the merry-go-round-of-the-pink-eye continues, I will either have to burn the house down or move (and sell the house fully furnished, with linens!)

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

