No Talk Me!

Adrian, our adorable little three year old, is living up to his full three-year-old capacity, aka destroying everything he can touch.  Whenever mayhem is found:

“Why is there water all over the floor?”

“Why is the floss all ripped out of its container?”

“Who ate an entire package of gum?”

“Why is my toothpaste in the dishwasher?”

“What happened to this CD?  It’s all scratched!”

The answer invariably: “ADRIAN!”

 

To combat this problem, Adrian developed a defensive technique.  Whenever I correct him about his many indiscretions (honey, don’t put your almonds in the coffee maker!), he holds up his little hand and says, “No talk me!  No talk A-jin!”

Now he has decided it’s better to just pre-empt all of our annoying corrections (don’t jump on the baby’s bouncer!).  BEFORE he’s going to do something “bad,” he says, “Mommy?  No look me!  No talk me!  Ok?”  Of course I don’t take my eyes off him after that, but he keeps holding his hand up and shouting, “MOM! NO! NO LOOK A-JIN!”

As his verbal skills have developed, he now instructs me in the conversation he would like to have.  Before he goes to do whatever it is (putting everything in reach under the running faucet), he says, “Mom!  No look me.  No talk me.  No say, ‘A-jin, no do that!’  Ok?  Ok Mom?  ‘Ok, A-jin.’  Thank you!”

You’re welcome, but seriously, don’t pull all the wipes out of the box!

 

No Talk Me!<

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Kid Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Talk Me!

  1. Rainey says:

    Hahaha oh my, Jenny! Adrian is adorable.

  2. Kristen says:

    All of this sounds eerily familiar. Almost as if Adrian and Cayden are twins.

Leave a Reply

