You have HOW many boys??

It occurred to me today at the YMCA, while I was nursing Will and Reid was being cuddled by the receptionist at the front desk, that I get way more help with my 4 kids because I have twins. If we had 4 kids but single-file, I think we would just get dirty looks. Like, “why on earth did those people have so many children?? Are they religious fanatics? Were they just TRYING for a girl?” Because obviously the only good rationale for having more than the average 2.3 children is an attempt to achieve the classic American one girl and one boy followed by tubal ligation. In fact, there is a Vogan Myth I have overheard multiple times in which we were “just trying one more time for a girl but then ended up with identical twin boys! The irony!” We were “allowed” to try one more time for our girl, and since we got twins, the fourth child isn’t really “our fault” and we can therefore be excused and pitied for our many children.

At the Children’s Museum, I was carrying Reid in my baby backpack and watching Adrian while my mom and a friend had the other 2 boys. A woman saw me talking to Adrian and asked, “Are they both yours? My, you have your hands full.” Yes…but that is not all…should I tell her the whole truth? What would you do if your mother asked you?

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You have HOW many boys??

  1. Karen says:

    I’m sure I don’t get all the comments you do, but when I was pregnant with Madelyn and after we had her people would always say, “Now you have one of each, a girl and a boy. How perfect!” It always bothered me because it we would have been perfectly happy if she was a boy (or twins!). Boys are lots of fun and all children are blessings! 🙂

    Love your blog and the updates about your beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

