Life Now–Blessed and Stressed

It’s been a while since I updated (I don’t know why that would be!), but I wanted to share what our family is doing!  We’ll do oldest to youngest!

Eric and I:  We are tired, but doing well managing the babies (again, with lots of help!  I can’t thank my parents and Julie and Rex enough for all they’ve done to help us!!)  Eric is a baby pro, but I think he’ll be glad to go back to work in August and give up his job as a stay at home daddy.  I started work a few weeks ago (2 days/wk) and it’s like being on vacation! No crying and I get a whole hour to myself for lunch.  We are struggling to keep up our calm Love and Logic skills with the big boys.  We are definitely being challenged with our patience.

IMG_5696<
Stephen:  He is a busy almost 6 year old, hard to believe!  He is having a great summer playing with his friends, swimming, and going to camps at Grandma and Grandpa's house.  He loves his little brothers and helps out a lot.  He is a wonderful big bro, but he is a VERY active and talkative little guy, so he keeps us on our toes.

IMG_5695
Adrian: He is in the midst of potty training and seems like he may have exchanged terrible 2’s for terrible 3’s.  He reminds me of the girl who had a curl and when she was good she was very very good, but when she was bad she was very very bad.  He makes us laugh every day with his cuteness and all the things he says, but he also frustrates us a lot with his tantrums.  He loves playing with all his brothers, and constantly wants to look at the babies and give them hugs ans kisses (“Look him?  Tiff him?  Hug him?”)

IMG_5795
Will and Reid: Are growing like crazy!  They will be 3 months old on the 9th, and it’s amazing to see the transformation over their short lives.  They are so alert, and cooing and smiling all the time.  They love to be held, which is a bit challenging sometimes when we only have 4 adult arms to go around.

 

We are in a very busy and hectic season of our lives.  We are overwhelmed and overjoyed by our children.  We feel so blessed to have four healthy, adorable little boys, but stressed to have such a messy house!

Jenny and twins

I am in a journey of trying to feel blessed more than stressed, a journey that began almost a year ago when I scanned myself and saw two little people on the ultrasound screen.  I know that my house will be clean and quiet some day, and I am trying to enjoy all the little goofy moments that my sons create.  When people see pictures of my family and say, “Wow, you are so lucky!”  I take my focus off the piles of dirty dishes and laundry and agree.

 

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life Now–Blessed and Stressed

  1. Rainey says:

    Aw! They are all so cute, but I can imagine how stressed you are. I don’t think I could handle it. I’m glad to hear you are all doing well, despite being tired.

    Love ya!

  2. Abby says:

    WOWWW, yeah. I would gladly clean for you, if we were close!

Leave a Reply

