Mom Guilt

So, here is my impression of what a good mom/wife should do:

Cook homemade dinners, clean the house, play with the kids (making sure to have one-on-one time with each if you have many), craft with the kids, take the kids to quality things (library, pool, camping, etc), take pictures and document all the memories you are busy creating, breastfeed your babies/y (which I am doing as I write this post), sleep while the babies/y sleep, spend quality time with your husband (to understand that phrase correctly, please read through testosterone-tinted lenses), exercise 2-3 times a week, be involved at church, blog, possibly work, and I’m sure there is more that I feel guilty about not doing but can’t remember right now.

And if you don’t manage to do all these things with a smile on your face…MOMMY GUILT rears its ugly head.  I am the master of mom guilt, and I can be doing something on my list while simultaneously feeling guilty about not doing something else (ie breastfeeding the babies while feeling guilty about not playing with Adrian or working out while feeling guilty that I’m not taking the kids swimming instead or sleeping while feeling guilty that I’m not doing any number of things).

But today when I was working out at the YMCA (and feeling guilty that the babies were in the nursery, of course), I remembered my mantra for the year.  In January 2013, I was becoming rapidly huge during my twin pregnancy.  I was exhausted and having trouble keeping up my active lifestyle.  That was frustrating me (I was the only one at the gym trying to GAIN 50lbs and able to do less each week).  So I came up with my new year’s 2013 mantra:

1.  Something is better than nothing

2.  Do the best you can with what you’ve got today.

I repeated my mantra whenever I was frustrated that I couldn’t do everything I wanted to do.  Now that I’m no longer pregnant, I realized that my resolutions still apply.  I am more physically able, but there are still a ton of things that I think or wish I could do that are not all possible at this season in my life.  Or at least, not all at the same time!  I am going back to basics, and I’m going to feel good about what I can accomplish, even if it’s just one load of laundry or one trip to the library.  Something is better than nothing!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom Guilt

  1. Rainey says:

    You are fabulous! All any of us can do is try our best and I’m sure your boys are well fed, loved, and content with life. You’re doing it right, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

