Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding has been on my mind a lot recently, since it’s been a major activity for me the last month!  One of the issues that always comes up with breastfeeding is public modesty.  With Stephen, I remember always covering up with a blanket, buying the aptly named “udder cover” to try to keep Stephen and me under wraps (no simple feat with a squiggly, grabby baby as those of us with newborns know).  When Adrian came along, I still made the dutiful effort to cover up while nursing.  But now…think keeping one baby covered up while nursing is hard?  With twins, forget it.  Sometimes I nurse in tandem, other times, I am struggling to get one to latch while feeding the other screaming one a bottle.  I don’t have the time (or arms!) to fuss with any cover up, udder or otherwise!  I have decided that when people come over, they can deal with it, and if they don’t want to see it, they can look away.

Then I thought, why all the fuss with breastfeeding modesty anyway?  That’s why women have breasts in the first place.  Why, in a culture where breasts are on prominent display on magazine covers at every grocery store, do we get squeamish when they are shown in a functional, rather than an *ahem* decorative capacity?  In those images, breasts are about sex and dehumanizing women as sex objects.  In these images, breasts are about motherhood, bonding, and nourishment.  How are breastfeeding images so controversial, but no one gets upset about the breast images in Playboy or GQ?

So just know that if you come over to my house, you will see breasts on display, working hard to nourish two precious babies, bonding us together.  No one will be worried about breast size or perkiness, just milkiness!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Jenny's thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breastfeeding

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with this philosophy, Jenny! While I do consider myself modest and would try to cover up when nursing, I often wondered why I felt the need to do so – for the very reasons you mentioned above. I mean really – it’s what God made breasts for – and that’s pretty amazing! Really proud of you for taking a stand and making sure Reid and William get the nourishment and bonding they need!

Leave a Reply

