Bringing home twins: week 3

Three weeks into bringing home twins, I can say having 2 babies is easier than I expected it to be (*knock vigorously on wood!*).  Eric and I are both very thankful that they are not our first babies.  I think that our prior baby experience makes it easier for us to care for twins.  (I realized that except for a 2 month break, we have been changing diapers since 2007.  We can beat you in any diaper-changing race at any time of day.)  Though having 2 babies definitely makes having 1 look easy!  It is strange to look back and remember how overwhelmed I was when I had Stephen.  I felt like I had no time, I could not do anything except care for him.  I definitely couldn’t figure out when I was supposed to shower!  Now, I feel like I’m having a relaxing morning since I have only the twins while Stephen is at school and Adrian is in daycare. I even have time to blog (though no shower yet…maybe sometime today…)!  But four boys together?  Definitely overwhelming!

Adrian and Reid

Adrian and Reid

(Also, I can’t thank my wonderful mother enough…she gets most of the credit for the fact that I am somewhat sane and still have hair.  She has been coming over daily to help and done all my shopping.  She has experienced how crazy it is to have twins as first babies when you don’t even know how to change a diaper!  Julie and Rex, my aunt and uncle, have also been a HUGE help with dinner and coming over.)

Having said all that, is it hard?  Definitely.  I think bringing home a baby is incredibly hard.  It  turns your whole world upside down and redefines the family.  As people adverse to change, having our life changed so dramatically is always hard for Eric and me.  I chuckle when people say, “We’re waiting for a good time to have a baby.”  I think, “Is there ever a good time to push a human being out of your vagina and have your hormones and breasts go completely wild all while not sleeping and being controlled by a 6 pound pooping tyrant who wasn’t even here last month?”  Read all the baby books you like, but nothing can prepare you for that!

Stephen and Will

Stephen and Will

I remember how hard it was bringing my children home, each uniquely challenging.  Stephen, a traumatic birth experience followed by postpartum depression as I struggled to finish school.  Adrian, transported to Denver for surgery hours after birth and breaking my tailbone during delivery.  The twins, coming home on oxygen, caring for two babies while also trying to be a good mom to two other little boys.  But I am so grateful they are each in my life, and so happy we have been blessed with them.  I am glad we were able to look past the hardship of the first few months to the joy of having children for a lifetime.

Little twins, you are hard on me right now!  But another advantage of being a seasoned mom: I know that this is only a short phase of our relationship.  The first 6-8 weeks are a huge struggle, but soon enough you will be running around outside with your brothers; the sleepless nights, postpartum tears, and delivery pain will fade.  None of it will compare with the joy of having you in my life.  

The four brothers

My boys, I thank God for each of you. 

 

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Birth Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bringing home twins: week 3

  1. Beautiful story. You are an amazing woman, and a wonderful mom. I am so proud of you.

  2. raineality says:

    Aw! I love you all! You know, even though I’ve never had kids, I do kind of chuckle when new moms read all those books. I’m sure they are helpful in the beginning to an extent, but I always think, “won’t this just kind of be a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants experience?”

Leave a Reply

