The Twins’ Birth

It was a dark and stormy night when I went into labor with Reid and William. (I told Eric that that’s how they wanted their birth story to start, and that’s why they chose the night of a blizzard!) I was due to be induced at 37 weeks gestation, on Wednesday April 10. But I went into labor at 11pm (just like every other one!) on Monday, April 8. As has been the case with all of them, I was in early labor for a while. I was sure after about an hour of early contractions that this was really it! I woke Eric up and told him he needed to pack his bag. He rolled over, hoping I was having false labor! About 30 minutes later, I shook him again. “Seriously, babe! We should start getting things in the car.” We got up, finished our packing, and put everything in the car. We waited a while longer until my contractions became regular, then headed to the hospital. A blizzard was forecast for the early morning, and it was super windy and cold, but no snow when we left. We arrived at the hospital at 3 am.
I was 5cm dilated when we checked in and having contractions every 3-5 minutes. I got my epidural and we continued to labor. Around 9:30 am on Tuesday, April 9 it was time to push! We were wheeled into the OR (all twins are delivered in the OR in case there is an emergency). I pushed Reid out, and he was born at 10am. He was a perfect little boy and weighed 5 pounds 3 oz! We held him and waited while William labored down and got ready for his turn. When Will came down, I pushed him out and he was born at 10:19am. As anticipated from my growth ultrasounds, Will outweighed his brother. He was 6 pounds 9 oz! (Adrian was 6lbs 10oz, and he was born at 38 1/2 weeks! Crazy!) Both boys were very healthy, but any baby born before 37 weeks goes to the NICU automatically…and of course they were born at 36 weeks 6 days, so off they went!
They both had low blood sugar and needed a small amount of oxygen. They were fed formula in the NICU to bring up their blood sugar, and that evened out within 24hrs. All three of us were discharged on Thursday, 48hrs after delivery. The boys came home with oxygen, and hopefully it will only be for a week or two.
Reid has had a little bit of a tougher time nursing because of his size, but he is doing very well. They are both nursing well and enjoying their big brothers!
Big Brothers!Stephen and Adrian have been very excited to have the babies. Adrian for some reason has claimed Will as “his baby” and loves to hold him. This morning he came in our room and asked, “Where my Will go?”
I asked Stephen how he was feeling about having the babies home, and he said, “I’ve never been happier! I love having babies!”
I am relieved they are adjusting so well, it is a BIG change for all of us! We are doing well and learning our new routine.
We are doing so well mostly because of our FANTASTIC support system, special thanks to the Vogans, Adams, and Gilberts for all their help. We surely would not be so well off without you!!

I hope that all makes sense and didn’t ramble too much…you know I’m scatterbrained right now! We love you all and appreciate your continued prayers and support as we adjust to being a family of SIX!!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Birth Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Twins’ Birth

  1. raineality says:

    You are a rockstar! Love you and wish I could see you and all your boys!

  2. Lauren says:

    Glad to hear things went well – praise the Lord – what an answer to prayer!

Leave a Reply

