Peace that Passes Understanding

After Adrian was born, Eric and I looked at each other, relieved that everything had gone so smoothly, and so much better than Stephen’s delivery. Until, that is, the nurse inspecting Adrian said, “Doctor? I think there is intestine in his umbilical cord.”
My doctor looked and agreed with her. I was still delivering the placenta and getting cleaned up, trying to overhear what was going on. Within minutes, the charge nurse and two NICU doctors were in the room consulting. They decided that Adrian needed immediate surgery to correct his umbilical hernia. He would need to be transferred to Denver where there was an available surgeon.
The nurse told me I could not nurse him since he had bowel problems, and I could only hold him for 10 minutes before they took him to the NICU and prepared him for transfer. I was devastated and sobbing, and the nurses told me I was at high risk for post-partum depression because of the separation. Two hours after delivering my baby, I was alone; my newborn and husband on their way to Denver. I fell asleep, and peace enveloped me.
After my initial shock and upset, I felt totally calm. I believe that God blessed me with supernatural peace, the peace that passes understanding. I napped the rest of the day and then my parents picked me up and took me to Denver to join Eric.
Before I left, my post-partum nurse asked, “How are you so calm right now? I would be a wreck.”
I said, “God gave me peace.”
She looked deep into my eyes. “I can see that He did,” she said.
My parents picked me up and we started for Denver. My mom asked me the same question, “How are you so calm?”
I told her about my prayer the day before, and said that I knew it was going to be ok—God gave me peace. God’s spirit protected me that day like I have never felt before, and it was incredible.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Birth Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peace that Passes Understanding

  1. Rainey says:

    What a great part to this story, Jenny! I knew a little bit of this story, but not enough. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

