Welcoming Adrian

WHAT!?” You thought as you read my title. “Weloming Adrian? Isn’t he like…two?” Well yes, he turned 2 on July 29. However, he has a unique birth story that I have never shared on my blog before, and Adrian is woefully underrepresented on a blog called “Stephen’s Mom.” So here, from Jenny’s archives, is Adrian’s birth story. I am going to post it in a few installments since it’s a little long. I hope it will bless you and show how God has watched over our family.
*************

We are almost three months into being a two child family, and it has taken me about that long to get used to it and process bringing baby number two home. As many of you know, Adrian’s birth was a big challenge, but we were blessed amazingly during that time. I wanted to write about our experience and share what God did for our family.
The day before I went into labor, a Tuesday, I knew I was going to have the baby soon, even though I was two weeks away from my due date. I wasn’t having contractions or any physical symptoms, but I knew intuitively it would be soon. I cleaned the house and packed for the hospital, and told Eric that if he had anything that he needed to get done, he’d better do it. Julie had offered to watch Stephen the following evening so Eric and I could go on a date. I considered canceling since I thought I would be in labor, but decided not to since it sounded too crazy!
The next day, Wednesday, I put Stephen in daycare so Eric could go to school and prepare what he needed for the new school year and I could prepare myself for labor. I went to Starbucks and finished reading my labor book and writing in my journal about my feelings. Then I went for a walk and prayed. I prayed, “Lord, I don’t know what will happen with this labor, but I know that there will be something unexpected. Please prepare me for the unexpected, give me peace, and provide for us in whatever lies ahead.”
That evening, Eric and I went to dinner and a movie while Julie babysat Stephen. We came home and went to bed…and I woke up one hour later at 11pm with contractions. We stayed home in early labor throughout the night, talking and enjoying each other. We only worried about what to do with Stephen, because our planned nighttime babysitter, Nancy, was out of town on a camping trip. My parents had recently gotten a new phone and they had set it to not ring between 10pm and 6am. I decided to leave a voicemail for my mom so at least she would know we were having the baby. To my surprise, she picked up! She said she must have “accidentally” forgotten to turn off the phone before going to bed. She came over around 5am so we could leave for the hospital.
Once at the hospital, the labor went amazingly fast. I got my epidural just before it was time to push.

Adrian was born at 8:55am July 29, 2010.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Birth Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

