I Don’t Like You

This weekend, Eric disciplined Stephen. Stephen responded, “I don’t like you, Daddy!” Instead of dissolving into tears like a mother would have, Daddy calmly replied, “That’s ok. I have friends who do.”
Proud of my stalwart husband, I piped up, “I like Daddy!” And I gave him a big hug. Not wanting to be left out, Stephen joined the family hug and then “played football” with Daddy. Over the course of the weekend, Stephen repeated his new phrase a few times to Eric, sometimes even adding, “but I love Mommy!” I felt sorry for Eric, but felt confident that my Mommy-shield would protect me from similar verbal abuse. Not so.
This morning, I said, “Stephen, let’s go have breakfast!”
“No!” He yelled. “I don’t like you.”
I was tempted to give him the “Boy, do you have any IDEA how much I suffered bringing you into this world, and how many nights I lost sleep feeding you from my own breast, and how I never eat a hot dinner because I’m serving you…” speech, but instead decided to take the Daddy route.
“That’s ok,” I said. “I have friends who like me. I can play with them.”
Stephen got a worried look on his face. “I love you, Mommy,” he said, and gave me a big hug.

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Like You

  1. Eric Vogan says:

    I was misquoted, though the spirit is the same. I said, “That’s OK. We’re going to have another baby, and he’ll like me.”

Leave a Reply

