Visiting Makayla

Stephen and I visited my friend and her one month old today.  Stephen ignored Makayla initially, but then came over to investigate what we were so focused on.  “Hold you the baby,” he asked, sticking his arms out.  I sat Stephen on my lap and we held Makayla together.  He patted her and said, “Nice baby,” and suggested we sing ABC’s to her.  After the song, he was done with baby and ran off to play.

We had lunch at Chik-fil-A which had a play yard inside.  Stephen could not eat his chicken nuggets because he was so excited to go play.  He climbed in a giant plastic tree, but got scared coming down.  One step from the bottom, he looked out the plexiglass window and his little face crumpled.  “Mommy hold you!”  He said.  I tried to convince him he was only one step away from me, but he just stayed at the window until I climbed in the tree myself and grabbed his ankles to get him out.  He also got a visit from a balloon lady who made him a balloon in the shape of an airplane.

On the way home, Kristin and I heard shrieking from the backseat.  We turned around to find that Stephen had stuck his thumb in his drink lid and gotten it stuck like a Chinese finger trap.  Kristin got his thumb out, and he insisted that she kiss it.  The kids had lots of fun, and both ended the trip fast asleep!

About jennyvogan

Author of "Stephen's Mom," a blog documenting the funny, crazy life of raising four boys while keeping my day job as an ultrasound tech.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visiting Makayla

  1. raineality says:

    Haha, kids are so funny! I really miss you guys. 😦 If you don’t make it back this way soon, I’m going to have to save up all the money I can muster to come to you.

  2. Sue Vogan says:

    I could just see him in the tree! Actually, I can see YOU in that tree having just as much fun as Stephen! And you can tell Stephen Grandma Vogan actually has gotten her finger stuck in a drink lid too . . . and I was a bit older than him . . . quite a bit – it hurt! Love and miss you!

Leave a Reply

